--- title: "Deleting a Leave Request Before Submitting" slug: "deleting-a-leave-request-before-submitting" updated: 2026-05-08T17:31:40Z published: 2026-05-08T17:31:40Z canonical: "help.su-inc.com/deleting-a-leave-request-before-submitting" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.su-inc.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Deleting a Leave Request Before Submitting Leave requests with a status of Unsubmitted, Recalled, or Rejected can be deleted from within the [Leave Requests option](/sui/docs/leave-requests-option) by the user who entered the request or by the employee for whom the leave request was made. > ***Tip:*** Leave requests with a status of Approved or Pending would first need to be recalled and then can be deleted (only applicable for approved leave requests not yet brought into a batch of Employee Absences or Pay Period Entries (or processed on the FMLA screen in the Employee File, if applicable); if needed, refer to [Deleting a Leave Request After Submitting](/sui/docs/deleting-a-leave-request-after-submitting). #### **How to delete a leave request *before* submitting:** 1. Select the **Leave Requests** menu (or select the **Leave Requests** menu and then **Inquiry**). 2. On the Leave Requests screen, select the **Inquiry** tab if not already selected. > **Note:** The Inquiry tab is only available if the user has rights to enter leave requests (within the User Security option). 3. The leave requests previously entered by the user in the last six months display showing the applicable status (Unsubmitted, Pending, Approved, Recalled, Rejected, or Cancelled). If desired, change the filters to modify the leave requests listed on the screen. 4. Click the **View/Edit** link to the right of the leave request to delete, or double-click on the leave request. 5. Once the leave request displays, click the **Delete** button. 6. When prompted, click the **Delete** button. > ***Tip:*** For organizations with K12Docs, any documents added for the leave request from within the School Accounting System or Web Link are also deleted from K12Docs the next time documents are synced.